Skip to content

Scholarships & Bursaries

Lucy Beeton Aboriginal Teacher Scholarship

The Lucy Beeton Aboriginal Teacher Scholarships have been established in recognition and honour of Tasmania’s first Aboriginal teacher. Lucy Beeton was born on Gun Carriage Island in the Bass Strait in 1829. In 1871 she established a school in a tent on Badger Island and later successfully lobbied government to fund a teacher.

Currently in Tasmania, Aboriginal teachers make up less than one per cent of teachers. Through establishing the Lucy Beeton Aboriginal Teacher Scholarships, the Department of Education aims to increase the number of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander teachers in Tasmania. The Lucy Beeton Scholarship aims to provide a financial incentive/support for Aboriginal people to undertake a teaching qualification at the University of Tasmania.



Available to commencing and current students who are members of the Tasmanian Aboriginal community and who are either commencing or continuing study in a Bachelor of Education or Master of Teaching in Semester 1, 2023. To be eligible, students must identify as an Aboriginal person and be accepted by the community in which they live or have lived (applicants must meet the Tasmanian State Government requirements of Eligibility for Tasmanian Government Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander programs and services); and be a current resident of Tasmania.

A mentor from the Department of Education will be appointed to support the successful applicant.

On-going Eligibility

To retain this award, recipients are required to achieve a minimum Pass result in all units studied each semester.


$3,000 per year Bachelor of Education

$4,500 per year Master of Teaching


Up to 3 years for Bachelor of Education

Up to 2 years for Master of Teaching

Closing Date

31 October 2022


Students wishing to apply for this scholarship should apply for a ‘University of Tasmania Indigenous Scholarships

Application status

Closed. Applications are being assessed.