Skip to content

Scholarships & Bursaries

Lloyd Robson Memorial Australian History Scholarship

This scholarship has been endowed by Dr Rosemary Kiss, widow of Dr Lloyd Robson (1931-1990) in honour of his dedication to Tasmanian history. Leslie Lloyd Robson grew up on the north-west coast of Tasmania, and as a student at the University of Tasmania (BA Hons 1953; MA 1955), he was actively involved in various activities including editor of Togatus and president of the Political Science Society. Dr Robson undertook postgraduate study at the University of London and completed a PhD at the Australian National University on the origins and character of the convicts transported to New South Wales and Van Diemen’s Land in 1787-1852. In 1963 Dr Robson was appointed to a lectureship in History at the University of Melbourne. He lectured mainly in Australian history and supervised a considerable number of postgraduate students in the field, retiring as Reader in 1989, shortly before his death. During this period he published many articles and books, the best known of which are The Convict Settlers, The First AIF – a study of its recruitment 1914-1918, and his two volume History of Tasmania. Dr Robson received the Melbourne Age’s ‘book of the year’ award for the first volume of History of Tasmania, published in 1983, and was recognised by the Royal Society of Tasmania in 1989 with the award of their Clive Lord memorial medal.



Available to postgraduate research students undertaking a Masters or PhD in the History Discipline to meet the costs of research travel in 2023. Preference will be given to research into Tasmanian history. The successful applicant will demonstrate academic merit, financial need, and must provide a full itinerary and costings for airfares and accommodation in their application.


Up to $3,000

Closing Date

31 October 2022


Students wishing to apply for this scholarship should apply for a ‘University of Tasmania Travel Scholarships'.

Application status

Closed. Not awarded.